"police office shouldn't carry guns" - do you agree or disagree with statement

Guns may be considered as symbol of violence and power. An great power comes with great responsibility besides all these facts I personal think police officers must carry guns with them to maintain law and order.People may argue about dangerous and catastrophic effects but its a measure of safety for the public and for officers themselves.

To begin with safety is major issue with all us. Most of gangster carry strong weapons and they didn't think a second before using them.How the police officers can handle them without guns.For example last month a read a news in new york times about an incidence took place in downtown. The article mentioned that two officer died while protecting a child from a gang. They didn't use gun first but when situation went out of control they use gun in a defensive way. On other hand gangster keep shooting on them. These type of incident may more often and worse is police officer without gun.

In addition to safety guns also a thought as symbol of power. since british came to america they only rule with gun. America got freedom back only with power of smart use of weapons.

No body follow law and order if they are not afraid of something. This has been proved in many psychological experiments and researcher hypothesized that sometime negative reinforcement make us faster learner. Hence guns can be used as negative reinforcement and we can train the society to follow laws in order to maintain peace full environment.

well apart from safety and power all the police officers are sufficiently trained enough to use the gun only when no option left. Every office give prior warning to victim before using them. For example when yesterday I went to market I heard lots of police car horns and sounds when I turned around I saw sheriff was given waring to man with a lady bag .he was asked to not to move, to place his hands , to head turn around and on sit on knees. Sheriff was holding gun only to scare him or to make him follow his command. Sheriff didn't fire a single shoot while arresting him. Well people may think using guns as inhuman behavior but i think our officers are trained enough to use them only in extreme condition.

to sum up i would like to mention can u imagine functioning of a teacher without board, a doctor without medicines same how a cope can work without gun. although we can't ignore the fact of responsible use it only when required.