IELTS - If Police should carry guns or not?

Topic Unlike other countries, police in UK do not carry guns. Some think it leaves citizen unprotected, other think it reduce the overall violence in the society. Discuss.

It is common that in various countries the police are carrying guns when they are on patrol, but in UK they do not carry guns. Some people state that is risky because individuals are unprotected, whereas other people claim that the overall violence in the society is decreased. As far as I am concerned, I would side with the former group.

On one hand, we should acknowledge that police patrolling without guns may lead to serious consequences. In the first place, it is hard for them to deal with emergencies. For example, policemen without guns cannot stop an armed criminal robbing a bank. In addition, the crime rate may be increased because criminals are not threatened by the authority. Furthermore, the economic growth may slow down due to the unsafe environment. People will not invest in the local market unless they are protected. Therefore, it is necessary for the police to carry guns so that they are able to protect our societies against criminals.

On the other hand, police not carrying guns may carry certain benefits. To start with , it can save the funds as the governments do not need to purchase weapons. Moreover, policemen without guns look more friendly than those carrying guns. It is also a signal that the police force is trying to deter crime peacefully.

To sum up, although there are a few benefits since the police are unarmed, I firmly believe that they shall carry guns in order to better protect our citizens and societies.