pleasure and satisfaction: the pursuit of our desires or the attainment of them?

What gives us more pleasure and satisfaction: the pursuit of our desires or the attainment of them?

During one's lifetime, your desires always give you motivation to do better. The pursuit of your desires can never be smooth; however, when you finally attain them after weathering the storm, you will find that your process of pursuing them makes you even happier than the attainment of them.

A principle figure in music factory concerns Djingo, a guitar player. Djingo started playing the guitar at thirteen years of age, and showed a great talent. By the age of eighteen, he had already gained enough practical skills and was regarded as a professional. He has a dream that he will be a renowned guitar player some day. However, he was no more than a professional until he was 20 when an event suddenly occurred that forever changed his life style and sealed his fate.

One day, holding a birthday cake, Djingo together with his family was celebrating a birthday party. Unexpectedly, the wick that fell out of the candle ignited the highly flammable plastic furrows at home; In just a minute, the whole house was on fire. Fortunately, Djingo wasn't burnt to death, but one of his legs was amputated and his left hand was severely crippled with three of his five fingers no longer in function. With such a heavy loss, Djingo didn't give up. Though for a guitar player hands are the most important things, he still strived to accomplish his musical dream. After recovery, he was still involved in practice, and even harder. He found a new method of playing the guitar with only two fingers. Eventually, Djingo succeeded. He was famous not only for his distinguished guitar playing skill, but also for his perseverance. He was treated as a jazz pioneer. In his pursuing for his desire, Djingo devoted much more than you can imagine. Now, for him, no matter whether he was considered as a noted guitar player or not; his pursuit of his desire is most important to him, because it is his desire that gives him strength for life. Recalling his experience of attaining his dream, Djingo feels it gives him much more satisfaction and pleasure because it is the cultivation of tears, sweats and blood.

Life is like a rolling mountain; we step forward to pursue our desires on the other side of the mountain. During the process, we will encounter rifts, thorns and those lurking dangers; however, when we finally land on the other side of the mountain and accomplish our pursuit, the joyfulness of success will be more memorable than simply the attainment of them.