"Does planning interfere with creativity?" SAT January 2009

Please grade my essay out of 12 and give me some feedbacks...

Prompt 1:

Planning lets people impose order on the chaotic processes of making or doing something new. Too much planning, however, can lead people to follow the same predetermined course of action, to do things the same way they were done before. Creative thinking is about breaking free from the way that things have always been. That is why it is vital for people to know the difference between good planning and too much planning.

Adapted from Twyla Tharp, The Creative Habit

Assignment:

Does planning interfere with creativity?

Plan and write an essay in which you develop your point of view on this issue. Support your position with reasoning and examples taken from your reading, studies, experience, or observations.

My essay:

There's a fine line separating a good planning and « too much planning ».People whose plans are accurate, concise and witty are the authors of innovative achievements and creative performances. Throughout history, scientists, successful entrepreneurs and business magnets - those who made revolutionary findings- shared this perception toward creativity.

Marie Curie , 1926 Nobel Prize laureate, was a scientist with a strict yet, flexible plans as she drowned deeply in the world of Atomic Physics. In fact, she worked in a open-air field, containing a large number of unstable chemical elements whose origin was mysterious. She planned, meticulously, to discover the secret behind the rapid change in the field's atomic structure but she can't at first describe or understand the phenomena. But, with a slice of good fortunate, she discovered that the disintegration of elements leads to the emission of radiations: Alpha, Beta, and Gamma. Finally, she gave born to a new branch of physics which is Radioactivity. The experience of Marie Curie proves that a good planning pave the way to success by generating some brilliant lucky opportunities.

Lawrence Page, the co-founder of Google, was a rigorous planner who adapts his ideas and shapes his perspective according to the circumstances. At a young age, he planned to start his own firm, with no governmental financial aid, as opposed to ordinary young entrepreneurs. He made a wide research about means to finance his new-born project. His successful creative approach came from a well-structured plan. Had he invades the world of business with neither experience nor planning, he would probably end up in jail due to bankruptcy. And, it would be no wonder like Google, the biggest research platform on the Internet.

I can make it clear, finally, that creative performances came from a wise and good planning but I must underline the fact that exaggerating can kill the project, the startup or the new-born scientific theory. So, it's critical to be aware how to vitalize smart ideas with unique and flexible plans.