My pet essay

An essay I'm writing for a competition at school. This is just the intro (it will be 1000-1500 words in length by the end). Looking for general criticisms etc. If this is the wrong board then blame that on my newbiness. Thanks in advance

Hello there friends! If you're reading this article then well done - you're literate!

So I bet you're wondering "Well, Ulysses, why should I get a pet?" First off, don't you take that tone with me buddy. This is my article and if I'm going to get to any point whatsoever I'll damn well do it in my own time.

Secondly, good question! A lot of people will tell you that pets can enrich our lives emotionally and physically and help us to become more responsible, well-rounded human beings through the care of animals which depend on us. HAHAHAHAHAH!

I've cared for many different animals through the course of my life and if any of you have ever met me then you'll know that all it has done is make me a bitter, shell of a man. If you haven't met me, you'll most likely recognise me as that guy that hangs around A corridor playing Yu-Gi-Oh with year sevens. That's right, the chap that's always crying.

The only reason anyone has ever gotten a pet is because they were lonely and couldn't find a friend within their own species. Most animals can't call you fat or spurn your sexual advances and so with them you'll find your only companionship until you finally make it with the crazy cat lady next door. Giggity.

So if you're desperate enough to still be reading this article then I guess you are thinking about what animal to pick for your only friend.