IELTS: Should people take care of others_Discuss?

Some people think that the world is now one large village and we are all responsible for each other. Others, however, argue that people in other countries should look after their own people and not be concerned with other countries.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In the era of globalization, there has been a dispute over whether the world is now a home to everyone and people should be responsible for each other or each country should only take care of its own people.

First of all, it must be noted that nations taking care of their own citizens has some certain advantages and disadvantages. On the plus side, governors of such nations will be able to focus on developing their countries thoroughly. Not having to be concerned with other nations, governments can save time and labour to solve domestic problems. For example: they may invest budget in improving the traffic infrastructure, medical services or schooling systems, which certainly elevates the citizens' living standards. On the minus side, however, this leads to a lack of connection and co-operation with other countries and as a consequence it will result in various problems. This is especially true when there is famine or natural disasters. As a matter of fact, if Haiti had not had a good and friendly relationship with other nations, the Haitian people and government would not have been able to overcome such a devastating and destructive earthquake a few years ago without their help.

Meanwhile, other people favour the notion that the world is now one large village and therefore, all of us have to take responsibility for others. Some skeptics believe that such interdependence will create unfair distribution of wealth among poor and rich countries and accordingly, poor countries will forever rely on rich ones for basic necessities. Nevertheless, it is strongly supported by many others that not all nations are self-sufficient in finance or medical facilities. Hence, people taking care of one another will make it possible for all to fill the gap between the rich and the poor, and every country can develop fully, which is crucially beneficial to citizens.

In conclusion, my opinion lies between these two extremes. It is necessary for all of us to look after others, especially in times of hardship, but also it must be borne in mind that each country must endeavour to treat their citizens to their basic needs before trying to help others.