People smart choice should be supported - they have right to refuse a job proposal - IELTS

Sometimes people are rejecting job opportunites due to their age or other circumstances. Is this a negative or positive approach? Give your opinion and provide relevant examples.

With the myriad of the unemployment in the world today, having a job is desirable for almost everybody. However, there are some who decline job offers for the reason of age and more. Personally, I think it is both negative and positive trend, which depends much on the the underlying cause of the rejection.

Job offer rejections bring two serious problems. The first trouble is that this trend puts much pressure on both government and individuals. Not only do authorities have to provide aid for the unemployment but also deal with the lack in potential workers in many fields. What is more, if one accepts job opportuniy, he or she can shoulder the responsibility for sustaining the family. The second trouble is that the state of being workless may lead to several mental disorders. For example, a number of stay-at-home mothers who sacrifice work for nurturing their children are reported to suffer high level of depression and anxiety.

However, declining job offers for appropriate reasons is beneficial in some ways. To begin with, people will have time to consider other potential choices before accepting these offers. To cite an instance, some university graduates turn down job opportunities to pursue master degree in higher education. This will give them the chances to enhance their knowledge and open the brighter future for them. Moreover, rejecting job offers due to the age is good for some. The pressure of balancing between work and personal life is so tough that thousands of people are diagnosed with terrible stress and heart attacks, especially in developing countries such as America. Hence, it is much better for them to settle down and enjoy their life.

In conclusion, people may decline job offers for good or bad reasons. However, I believe that after taking everything into consideration, a smart choice chould be supported