IELTS Essay: People have always been seeking for their basic needs - Shopping Habits

People's shopping habits depend more on the age group they belong to than any other factors. Do you agree or disagree?

People have always been seeking for their basic needs, but nowadays purchasing certain products has become as a regular behavior of the individuals in many societies. Some argue that people's shopping habits is mostly influenced by under which age group they are classified. However, I contend that there are far more relevant factors that should be taken into account accordingly.

To begin with, it is true that same-aged people have many interests as well as numbers of similar needs in common. This would lead them to have similar behavior in choosing ways of buying the goods. The little- aged children, for instance, are always looking for toys and entertaining objects, since quantity and variety is their shopping priority; whereas for middle ages the quality and after sales services of a product would be highlighted as the most significance for their choice. Therefore, it is possible to classify costumers based on their age in order to examine their shopping habits, yet whether it is the only major factor in this area would be certainly questionable.

The factors which could affect people's regulars in shopping could be determined based on their social strata, their level of education and their local culture. The advantaged group in the society has different shopping habits in comparison to disadvantaged one regardless of their age factor. The widening gap between rich and poor is a significant determinant in their shopping habits. Furthermore, the intellectual people choose their needs based on academic factors and also their concerns about price, quality and delivery condition, whereas ordinary ones just go shopping for enjoy and excitement.

To conclude, it is in the realms of possibility to partly categorize people's shopping habits based on their age group. However, there are more aspects as yardstick for having a scientific and practical approach to examine people's regular ways of meeting their needs in a society.