People in the past ate healthier (food) than people do today

An increasing number of people begin to discuss whether people in the past ate healthier food. Many people are of the opinion that the food people ate in the past were cleaner and safer. As for me, I strongly contend that people nowadays eat food with lower quality for following reasons.

The most critical reason is that food in the past was more natural and wholesome.

That is to say, it was not processed by factories and contained less chemicals which are harmful to human body. Take moon cake as an example. In the past, moon cake were usually handmade and no additives added in. However, moon cake is accused of being made by bad oil today. Therefore, the case of moon cake can best illustrate that how dangerous it is for people to eat food.

In contrast, there is the popular opinion that now we feel more secure about food than the past, because food is examined by government organizations. That is to say , government can supervise the quality of food. Genetically modified food is a fitting example to illustrate. Government states that GM-food is not deleterious to our body, so people believe it. However, scientists from Taiwan doubt about such announcement and try to reveal the mystery of genetically engineered food.

To explain, although government promise to civil peole that food is healthy, we still have to be careful about food we purchase.

In sum, even though the problem of food has been fiercely debating, it is my storng contention that people in the past possessed higher quality of food than people in the modern society.