Ielts: Why people are moving to big cities - social issue

3. Many people are moving to big cities. Why is that? Do you think it is a good trend? (100123)

Recently, there has been a social concern in regards to whether the big city is the best place for us to live. Indeed, increasing number of people from small cities or rural area choose to move to big cites. As far as I am concerned, I agree with the view that people should live in the big city.

In the first place, one major factor that makes a large city more favourable than village is the developed transportation system. First of all, there are various means public transportation such as bus, taxi and train in large cities. As a result, if you do not have a car to go to work, public transportation is often available. Moreover, big cities can also enrich people's social life. For instance, plenty of clubs and social gatherings give you a better chance of meeting friends. As a result, it is beneficial to live in the big city.

Furthermore, In order to survive in the highly competitive world, people need to be employed to support their families. First of all, big cities have many good universities where we can enhance our professional and practical skills in order to improve our employability. Moreover, not only can a big cites provide people with a great chance to develop their skills, but also it offer a wide range of job opportunities while in the countryside this range is limited to a few types of jobs. Therefore, it is better to live in big cities.

However, some people may perceive this issue from different viewpoint. Urban life may exert adverse effects on our health. In the first place, as people increasingly tend to relay on transportation such as buses and private cars, large amount of emissions from road traffic can be produced, this will destroy the quality of the air and water. Consequently, some chronic disease such as diabetes and stroke may be developed by air pollution and water contamination according to a survey released by the British Government.

After having considered all the arguments above, we can finally draw a conclusion that although living in a big city can give rise to health problems it has more positive effect such as better job opportunities and convenient transportation system.