IELTS: More People Living by Themselves

Nowadays more people are living by themselves. What are the reasons for this? Will this have a negative or a positive impact on the society?

These days, there has been a prolific increase in the number of people in the society who prefer to live a lonely life. There are several reasons behind this which, in my opinion, has led to adverse effects on the day-to-day social interactions and mental health of the individuals.

The first cause of making this choice by some people would be lack of courage and responsibility. The people with sad experiences of previous relationships may rather not be faced by another emotional dilemma in their life, and then they are more likely to live by their own, making themselves separate from accepting responsibility and challenges of managing a family for instance. The other reason could be the young's tendency of getting independent from their parents and live their lives without their supervision and district rules. This could, probably, lead them to more happiness as they would be able to throw parties and do whatever they wanted to. On top of this, the advances in modern life facilities and economic development have brought the possibility of living alone for almost everyone at present. It would be more unlikely decades before if each individual wanted to be financially able to afford a living separately and without the family supports.

The effect of this option made by individuals could be very serious. Firstly, it could deteriorate the ability of socializing among the member of society. As a result of decline in social skills the community spirit will be damaged which is a very serious social damage. Furthermore, it could cause various mental problems and affect society members' health negatively. Currently, we often hear the news and reports that shows the increasing figures of mental disorders in the society. The enormous amounts of patients suffering from illnesses such as depression and social anxiety disorder simply means that this issue should be considered significantly.

To conclude, it is evident that there are several causes of this common choice among a group of individuals in today's societies. However, this trend could affect the society in variety of negative ways and society must ensure that steps are taken to prevent situation from deteriorating further.

***I really appreciate your feedback. I am going to take IELTS exam very soon and your comments would be a great help to me!

awaiting to receive your points on grammar, punctuation, coherence and cohesion, task achievement, lexical resource, Anything!