IELTS: Success has broader definition than the earning power of a person.

hi all,

this is my first IELTS essay. it took me more time than given but think i can improve on timing. appreciate your valuable feedback.

ONLY people who earn a lot of money are successful. Do you agree or disagree with this definition of success? Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Some people say, those who earned or who has lot of money are the ones who are success in their lives.Some argue the success couldn't be measured by the amount of money one earned in his life.In my opinion success has broader definition than the earning power of a person.

First of all, isn't it possible to someone to be success without money?Lord Buddha who was one of the greatest religious leaders in earth, became success after he has realized the truth of life. He taught what he realized to thousands of people and let them follow his path to 'Nirwana'. But did lord Buddha have lot of money by the time he achieved his success? Does money helped him to realize the truth and thereby to achieve what we believe as the greatest success one could have in this earth?

Take another example from the life of Thomas Alva Edison; who was an American inventor developed many devices that greatly influenced the life around the world including the electric light bulb. Does anyone treat him as a failure? He is one of the most successful scientist and an inventor in the world. Does anyone going to argue on his success? Was money behind his success? Was he born to a rich family and therefore let him do all these inventions? No. There's no relationship with money and his inventions. Of course his inventions made him rich. But no one say money made him success.

Above are two great examples which support the fact that money is not a necessary factor for one to become success.

Secondly, does all who earn or who has lot of money can be considered as success?Imagine a person who is rich but not having a happy family life for some reason. He fights everyday with his wife and his children are not listening to him. Can we think him as success?

Similarly, consider a person who has lot of money but suffering from a deadly disease which has no cure. Even though he has money in his bank, he cannot use it to save his life. Will anyone say that he is success in his life?

Likewise, there are enough and more examples which exemplify the fact that amount of money are not the only definition of success. Money could be a factor when defining success; but it's not the one and only one.