People go to college because they need to learn more things about the world - TOEFL

Hi guys,

This is my first time on this forum, so be gentle if I make some mistakes regarding the postings, categories, etc.

This is my first essay and its part of my training for TOEFL.

Thank you.

"Why are people going to college?

Why did I go to college? First of all I wanted to leave home. I needed the freedom to express myself without the influence of a strict generation. It might sound bad, but the road to hell is paved with good intentions. I think the need for freedom is one of the most common reasons that young people go to college.

Of course, there are several reasons behind the decision of going to college. Some of them are driven by the avid urge of discovering new challenges, to study new fields. Most of the people that choose to go to college are young people and I believe that these new challenges are one of the gadgets that are putting the engine of the desire to go to college in motion.

This is the more humanistic side of this desire. There is, of course, a more pragmatic need in the back of this change. People go to college to improve themselves and become more competitive in the labor market, the so called prepare for the rabbit run, as a friend suggested the other day.

But this is not all, going to college means more than money and career. People chose to go to college to meet new people. So going to college has also a strong social impact in the life of the attendee. We can take the social impact to even higher institution, the Institution of Family. Yes, some people go to college and they meet there the love of their life.

This decision for attending college does not mean that one sits down and puts this motivation on a piece of paper, glues it to the refrigerator and from now on this is the target: I want to get married with a smart, rich man that will get me out of the house, puts me in a Mercedes and takes me out every day with our four beautiful children to the Country Club.

People go to college because they need to learn more things about the world, because they want to interact with people on the same level. And yes, along the road some of the situations above might happen, but in the end people need people."