Classroom Diversity and Teaching

Response:

I am motivated to serve as a Peace Corps volunteer for many reasons. Throughout my life I have enjoyed discovering new things, overcoming challenges, embarking on new conquests, and achieving the goals I have set out for myself. The Peace Corps presents an opportunity for me to do all of these things in a brand new way that I have never experienced before. I am eager to dive into a culture and way of life different from the one I live in now. I want not only to experience another culture in order to learn about diverse customs and beliefs, but also to teach others about where I come from, what I believe in and how we can all help each other.

I hope to gain many things during my Peace Corps service. I want to develop a global mind, expand my language skills and become more aware of the cross-cultural benefits I can provide to others. I seek an adventure unlike anything I have come across in my life thus far. I look forward to enhancing my awareness of diversity across the world. I desire to have a role in a community where I am a collaborator, a friend and a motivator to many different people. The Peace Corps provides the opportunity for me to expand my horizons and immerse myself in a whole new way of life.

After my Peace Corps service, I hope to have developed new language skills and a better understanding of the world beyond my backyard. I plan to use my degree in elementary education to become a school teacher after my service with the Peace Corps. I will use the skills and experiences I learned from the Peace Corps to help me understand the diversity of the classroom I will be teaching in and use it to my advantage. I want to provide my future students with illuminating stories and the opportunity to also experience a new world other than the one they live in.