Past gives us preponderance experience which might be good or bad

TOEFL ESSAY- Learning about past has no value for those of us living in the present.(do you agree/disagree)

Someone gave invaluable statement that: "Past is an experience, present is an experiment and future is an expectation". This statement teaches us about improving our future by remembering past experience. Past teaches us lots of lessons. Learning those lessons is crucial for our happiness in the future. Therefore I don't think that Learning about past has no value for those of us living in the present.

Past gives us preponderance of experience which might be good or bad. Good experiences are seldom remembered by people but no one can forget their bad experiences. Bad experiences leave indelible image on one's mind and these teach people that they should not follow their mistake again. If they again encounter in same problem then it becomes easy to come out from that problem for those who have learn from their past experience. They can also give suggestion to other who is suffering from same problem. For example, every business man or entrepreneur start his or her business from basic level. In starting of business he or she might be encounter some major problem like wrong output of business, penalty for faulty work, unsuccessful to grab tender and etc. But from these things he or she could learn their mistake and these experiences may be most useful for him or her to become a successful entrepreneur.

Additionally, rules made by government are based on their past experience. They made all rules for citizen to avoid accident, crime which happen in past. For example, everyone knows that wearing helmet is always good for bike rider. Many evidences are available which state that bike rider had save his or her life in mishap only due to wearing helmet. According to this study government made rules that wearing helmet is compulsory for bike rider which they learn from past mishaps. Similarly rule of wearing seatbelt while driving a car, the ban on drunken driving etc., all these are example of improving life by past experience.

On the other hand, some people think that thinking about past loses their present fun. They think that one should forget about past and future to enjoy present. But I think that this is seems narrow minded thinking. They can't become success in their future life because they don't care about their mistake and don't have any future plans.

Hence, learning about past has precious value, because it help us to improve our future life as well as alerting us about what we should do in present.