'Past achievements are requirements of a significant contribution' A GRE ISSUE

Often, previous achievements may have a deep impact in that field, and obviously, most significant contributions are based on the experiments undertaken or theories claimed by harbingers. This conception make sense in some degree, however, it does not justified a definite correlation. To indentify whether past achievements are requirements of a significant contribution, we should have a deep investigation on past achievements functions.

Admittedly, the past achievements sometimes serve as cornerstones to new accomplishments. With the support of the experimental data or documents written by the virtuosos, people nowadays can save a lot of time on the complicated Classic Mechanics analysis or the perplexed Chemical Functions, and on the bases of these theories scholars are able to turn to those newly predicaments then make further progress. If it were not for the invention of Function and Unit, there would be no Calculus and scientist in the field of physics and chemistry could never work on the convoluted analysis. Moreover, past achievements also edify new ideas. The great success of IPHONE in the global market set a good example to IT corporations such as Samsung and HTC, deeply influenced by Apple's style, they begin their stimulation campaign and earn enormous profits soon.

Although past achievements can be recognized as a guide, we can not assert their effects to be as strongly as the speaker mentioned in the claim. According to The Butterfly Effect, a small change at one place in a deterministic nonlinear system can result in large differences to a later state. Sometimes, therefore, contributions take place only because of a haphazard incidence or inspiration. Far from being a great event with historical long-term effect, they are merely accidence with luck being amalgamated. By noticing a small angle deflection during his experiment, Tesla discovered the Electromagnetic induction and Kekule drew the structure of Benzene ring only due to a dream. Without being strongly influenced, scientist can still reach a wonderful result.

To go a step further, we may regard past achievements a double-edged Sword. Excellent as an inspiration and illuminate many new conceptions, it sometimes narrows people eye-sight as well. Old conceptions or theories will easily fall into frames and then constrain people's attitudes, once people get accustomed to the previous "axioms"; their thoughts become rigid, blocking them to search solutions out of the system. In some cases, if we want to make progress, creativity thinking is the basic requirements. Release the shackles of authorial theories such as Classic Mechanics or Keynesian, scientists may have already step further in exploring the start of universe and finding the solution of Oil Crisis; delete the traditional aesthetic conception, artists may create a revolution and set up a new recognition of beauty; avoid the pedestrian ethic dogmatic, countries like People's Republic of China will lead into a real democratic society where tyranny will no longer exist.

It is impropriate to overestimate the importance of past achievements to new contribution. Previous achievements do sometimes plays a crucial role in the development of significant contribution, contribution can also come out without them. Palatable though the past fruit tastes, we should not frame ourselves into pedestrianism. Hence keep a creative mind and live life to the fullest.