TOEFL:Should parents make important decisions for their older children or not?

[Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Parents or other adult relatives should make important decisions for their older(15 or 18 year-old) teenage children. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.]

The topic of people's opinions about making decisions for teenage children can be approached from several different angles due to its complexity. Some people agree that parents or other adult relatives should make important decisions for their older teenage children while others disagree. I also developed my points of view. There are 2 reasons why I disagree that parents make important decisions on behalf of their teenage children.

One reason influencing my point of view is that teenage children have their own opinions that may be different with their parents' thinking. It is acknowledged that no two separate individuals would have the same attitude toward an incident, even though they are family members. For example, before attending a university, choosing discipline to be majored is significant for a young teenage. Parents may compel their children to sign up for economic or engineering degrees that seems can definitely make a profit in the future. However, if their children are interested in other aspects instead of what their parents choose, most of them do poor academic performance at last. In other words, they spend their times and money in colleges, but they absorb nothing at all. Thus, it can be seen that making decisions for teenage children doesn't have any advantage.

Another reason underlying my choice is that teenage actually have enough knowledge to make important decisions. Adults might think that teenage children lack enough experience to make vital decisions. Nonetheless, after studying in senior high schools, they learn basic knowledge and skills from schools to live individually. That's the reason why obligatory education systems have to be made in modern countries. Besides, parents should give their children a chance to cope with frustrations. The more challenges children deal with, the more experienced they get. If teenage children have no chance to be responsible for themselves, after growing up, they are more likely be stuck in an obstacle and have no way to stand up again. Therefore, it is clear that teenage children should make integral decisions by themselves.

Of course, some people may be moved to disagree with my position on the issue. However, I feel confident that the reasons I have presented are persuasive.