Parents have a greater influence on their children's; "parents training courses"

Topic: Do you agree or disagree with the following statements? Parents have a greater influence on their children's future than schools do. Governments should, therefore, provide "parents training courses" rather than "teachers training courses".

My opinion

It is obvious that parents, who directly take responsibilities for raising children, have a powerful impact on the future success of their offspring. Some people think that it is more reasonable for the government to provide "parents training courses" instead of "teachers training courses". Nevertheless, I strongly approve of the policy to keep offering training lectures for teachers because it will not only favor children's development but save time and money as well as reduce pressures put on parents.

First of all, maintaining teachers training courses will promote education, which favors children's development. Firstly, the fundamental role of schools and teachers is irrefutable. Teachers are the so-called proud holder of the title for decision-maker of future, the knowledge that they provide children is invaluable and necessary. Therefore, teachers training courses will certainly improving the quality of educating. Secondly, parents themselves have the stronger motivations to raise their children than anyone else, which are love and the passionate attachment between them. As a result, parents definitely have the ability to learn on their own how to educate their children. All in all, a combination between parents and teachers, accompanied by the improvement in teaching, will surely foster children's growth.

Next, the replacement may become a waste of time and money. That is to say, parents are those who have both duties to earn families' living and taking care of children. Attending training classes will occupy their time considerably, which possibly makes them unable to fulfill their responsibities the best, while the success these courses bring about can not compensate for the loss in a short time. Nowadays, there are many classes open to teach people how to be good parents. However, these are often provided for specific people who really need them, such as youngsters that have become fathers and mothers when they are still immature and aggressive. Besides, the programs including lectures and extra activities together with facilities for training teachers are already available. Meanwhile, governments ought to invest money and time in supplying and upgrading facilities, introducing this new policy to people through mass media, etc. in order to impose parents training courses widely. By the same token, that parents training courses substitute for ones for teachers is likely to consume time and money illogically.

Finally, preserving teachers training courses can reduce pressures that parents have to handle. In other words, accompanying such classes for parents, there will be more duties which parents need shoulder. They will be required to play a far greater role in educating children and will be held responsible by the whole society if they can not carry out it. Then, in addition to stress from their hard work or complicated nuisances they have to face daily, parents are supposed to be put under dramatic pressure. How can they get by, especially to lone parents? For example, a single mother, who has two children, is trying to make ends meet. If she attends a parents training course, she is certainly incapable of organizing her schedule smartly. She is very likely to be tense and find it difficult to take wise decisions. In that case, she will probably be ruined by stress and even can not teach her offspring well. Conversely, teachers suffer from few pressures when attending training courses as it is part of their job. They can satisfy both: earning and teaching. In short, providing parents training courses should be considered seriously if the government want to apply them all over because those can produce a great deal of pressure on parents.

To conclude, the policy to preserve teachers training courses need to be followed continuously since it saves time and money, as well as allow parents to relieve stress and stimulate children's development. Thus, children are more likely to be successful in the future.