'parents and adult relatives are important people in teenagers' life' - TOEFL IBT

DO YOU AGREE OR DISAGREE WITH THE FOLLOWING STATEMENT? PARENTS OR ADULT RELATIVES SHOUD MAKE IMPORTANT DECISIONS FOR TEENAGERS. USE SPECIFIC REASONS AND EXAMPLES TO SUPPORT YOUR OPINION

There has been endless discussion whether parents or adult relatives should make important decisions for teenagers or not. Some people believe that parent should take part in making their teenagers' decisions while others show interest in letting teenagers make their own decision. Personally, I am in favor of the latter. Certain reasons will be deeply presented in this piece of writing.

I will begin by listed the reasons why I agree with this statement that teenagers should make their own decisions. First, they should learn how to make up decisions without parents' help, making relationship, for example. Through their state of life, they have lots of relationship, such as girlfriend, boyfriend, classmates, and so on, they have to think what kind of people are good or bad for them, should they go on or end those relations, then, they have to make their own choice. The result here is that they will learn how hard it is to decide such an important things, then they will be more responsible for their choice.

More persuasive reason is that by making their own choice they will get more chance to be more self-determination. One example here is when they decide to attend to university or college. They have to choose what major they want to study, what job they will perform in future life, etc. They themselves will get more self-determination through those important choice. By this way, teenagers will be more self-confident to do all things by themselves.

The last reason I want to presented in this writing is that experience from making wrong decision also help teenagers grow up. One example for this point is when they choose major to study in university or college. They have to know what subject they are good at, are capable of studying. Some teenagers make their own decision to pursue major they don't like, this leading to the fact that they may get fed up with what they are learning, then, waste time making another choice or another majors. Learning from wrong decisions give teenagers more opportunities to learn how to think seriously before doing anything in their life.

In conclusion, true to be told that, parents and adult relatives are important people in teenagers' life, they always support for teenagers' choice. However, letting teenagers make their own decision is not only help them grow up better but it also give them chances to get more experience, self-confidence and self-determination.