Essay on OVERPOPULATION topic; 'starvation of millions'

Together with environmental related problems, population explosion has drawn a great attention of the public these days. It's believed that this situation creates many negative effects to the stable development of a nation and need to be controlled.

First and foremost, the overpopulation makes a great burden on the infrastructure system; the lack of pure water, insufficient electricity and overladen public transportation are typical consequences caused by this situation. Besides, the environment is also suffered since too many people living on the land could destroy the surrounding natural landscape as well as pollute the air and the underground water. Apparently, all these mentioned outcomes could be observed clearly in poor/developing countries. For instance, New Delhi - one of the most crowded city in the world - is ranked number 9th in the list of top polluted cities worldwide and its citizens are now living in the fear of an unpredictable plague which could outbreak at any time due to the unrecoverable contaminated sources of water.

In addition, the uncontrolled population growth is claimed as the main obstacle for improving the quality of education system, results in a low literacy rate, high unemployment level and a great deal more crime.

There are generally two primary solutions proposed to solve the overpopulation problems. Firstly, every women, who is pregnant, should be legally allowed to have an abortion in case they don't want to give birth (due to some personal reasons). Secondly, the government need to educate people to limit seize of the family. In China, a financial penalty would be applied for those couples who break the "one-child" policy. This policy seems cruel according to some activists however its effectiveness is undeniable in this world most populous nation.

To summarize, it goes without saying that overpopulation is a great threat to the development of a nation. This trend must be restrained in order to avoid starvation of millions people in poor countries and to ensure the basic living standards are satisfied.