Opinion on famous people's personal news, their hobbies in the media - IELTS

Subject: Newspapers and magazines publish famous people's personal news, their hobbies, where they make clothes and even photos of their private situations. What is your opinion regarding this matter?

Due to constant media attention actor-actresses, sports professionals, singers and even political leaders have become celebrities these days. The reason behind such concentration of media is public curiosity- people interested about the way of lives of these superstars.

In open market economy, all businessmen want to make money selling items what can be sold- whatever these items are. Since publishers of newspapers and magazines know that private gossip of these superstars can be sold as hotcake hot news, they have taken chance of selling these sorts of news to their readers. Even a new kind of journalism, called 'pappayratsi' has been originated. They are employed to invade one's privacy- taking opportunity of one's unawareness; these papayaratsies smell out and publish all sorts of private information and photographs of a celebrity in newspapers and magazines. Surely this tendency should be discouraged.

There are many more news in the world those need attention. But due to money making perspective of publishers, much important news does not get proper coverage. In this regard I can remember about two important facts of the world those occurred almost same time, in the same month at the beginning of the ninetieth decade. Both of the fats were about death of two influential ladies in the world- one was Mother Teresa and another was Diana, The Princess of Wales, UK. In any consideration Mother Teresa was the much more significant character due to her sacrifice in welfare of humanity. Even she was awarded Noble prize on peace because of her life long humanitarian activities to establish peace on the earth. Of course, Diana started to take part on some humanitarian activities too, but she was famous for her glamour, scandal to the people. After their death, newspapers and magazines allocated about eighty percent space for Diana and remaining portion for Mother Teresa along with all other current news. It is also said that Diana died in a severe car accident to avoid a papparatsi who had been following her to take some photographs of private situations.

To recapitulate, I would say that media, newspaper or magazines, should merely sell the newspaper, not the news. Thus much important news will get due coverage rather than one's private scandal.