IELTS: Online learning or real school? Provide your opinion.

Some people say that online learning is the most effective and convenient way to learn. Others say that online learning will never be as effective as learning at a real school, in person. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

The advancement of the Internet has a great impact on the development of online educational programs. Inasmuch as many people would agree that receiving education online is the most efficient and accessible way of learning, many would argue that it will never be as effective as attending classes at an actual classroom setting. This essay will discuss both these positions and offer my opinion.

According to some people, the most suitable and efficient way of learning is online education. This is primarily because it saves time, money and effort, wherein online classes and programs can be accessed via the Internet with just a click of the mouse, and that they are not difficult to schedule and fit in to one's life activities. Scheduling, registrations and submission of work can be done hassle-free without having to deal with traffic jams, unexpected bad weather conditions or even queuing to accomplish transactions, which also aids in eliminating transportation fees and other expenditures not needed in attending classes online. Also, virtual lessons help students develop their Internet and technological skills and it encourages responsible learning since course completion requirements such as assignments, projects, activities and case studies are being monitored.

However, many argue that online education will never be as effective as actively learning from a real school. Multi-learning can be achieved when students attend classroom lectures, where they can not only listen to the educators, but also see visual cues via a PowerPoint presentation or white board notes and personally participate in live discussions. There is a lesser chance of miscommunication in actively attending classroom classes since nonverbal cues like facial expressions and body language can be observed. Interactions with the other students are also possible where they can learn and benefit with each others' experiences.

In conclusion, there are arguments that support online learning to be the most effective and accessible way of gaining proper education while other argue that it is not as good as attending actual classroom classes. In my opinion, effective learning, either from a virtual or a real school, can be achieved if the student has the qualities of a diligent learner; therefore, regardless of the method of education, the success of learning is dependent on how a student utilizes his educational tools.