IELTS: Which should be the ones to teach children into good citizens? Parents or Schools?

Directions:

Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

When children gradually enter the age of adolescence, some parents who hope to educate their kids into good members of the community, are becoming upset unprecedentedly. Yet, it is debated on a world-wide scale on who should take the responsibility to bring children onto the right track.

Teaching children to be qualified members of society is doomed to be the task of parents, as is claimed by some people. They are convinced that parents were the first teachers for children when they were born, and they always will be. On a larger sense, the schools are the alternatives from parents.

Believing that schools should play the most pivotal role in perfecting children, others are opposing the point of view that it should be parents rather than schools to take responsiblity in it. They explain that schools provide the environment which is the epitome of the real society, enabling students to improve communication skills and resilience that are crucial for future survival.

From my perspective, I am a supporter on the effect of schools. Firstly, to generate a real surrounding for children instead of letting them do what they want is the distinctive difference from education they received at home. Parents tend to show tolerance towards children, offering the so-called unconditional love, which is, unfortunately, an obstacle for the children to get fitted to the outside world. Secondly, the school serve as a platform for students to identify who they are, what they want and how to make a change independently after a succession of events. Encountered with failures as they are, students may have a chance to make a retrospect of what they have done and figure out how to cope with these issues, therefore they will adapt to the life of society more promptly in the future. The precious experience they gain at schools, however, is almost impossible to be obtained from their parents.

In conclusion, although parents have been the guardians and guides of children since their birth, they cannot be compared with schools in terms of nourishing kids into good social members. All in all, schools are the ones that ought to bear the burden of training children for they are the main arena for students to experience the real society.