one word essay on time & quality of our life.

TIME

As our surroundings evolve into a fast paced and contemporary society, we are immersed in the mad rush to be more efficient and effective in our way of doing things from transportation down to communication. Surely these are made possible thanks to the advancement in technology which allows us to save as much time as we can. However, does saving time really made our life better and fulfilling? Or otherwise, this obsession of saving time which is indoctrinated in the minds of our generation in fact deteriorates the quality of the things that we done, or even worse, quality of our life?

One of the most ubiquitous practice to save time which seems to be favored by today's generation would undoubtedly be multitasking. Ever since the advent of sophisticated gadgets such as laptop, Ipad, and netbook, various jobs can be done simultaneously at the same time. Typing, listening to music, making calls, and doing research on the internet can be encapsulated using the same gadget. Therefore this practice does seems to save up valuable time for us to do other things. However, we have failed to realize the downside of multitasking, which is the lack of concentration as we can only give a portion of it for each task. Adversely, each task was done without any deep thinking or attention ascribed to it. It is not surprising then to see the quality of work deteriorates.

Meanwhile, what do we do with the valuable time that we so desperately tried to save up? If one claims that it can be used as time for relaxation, then one need to be corrected. We did not even enjoy those times as our leisure moments, but instead continue to work conscientiously regardless of anything. The rushed lifestyle that we adopted to have changed the way we perceive time. We are put in a rat race where the rule that applies is the fastest one to finish will acquire everything. Hence time saved is no longer appreciated but used for work and more work. Even worse, some assume that time used to straddle on the park, reading novels and enjoying fresh air is a waste of time. Upon observing this situation, one begs a question to differ, what then is the purpose of saving time if it is not appreciated?

The obsession with saving time also becomes the driving force of continuous advancement in technology. An example of it would be the introduction mobile phone which allows us to communicate easily using text messages or e-mail. Although this feature does make our way of communication by far more convenient, it has also diminishes the quality of conversation and relationships. There is no longer a need to meet face-to-face to share stories and laughter. Yet consequently the quality time supposedly spent with friends is instead replaced by interacting with a gadget. We may even develop to be a socially awkward person merely because we choose to save up time meeting up with someone. Hence, one can conclude that the obsession of saving time degraded our quality of life.

Thus, saving time should not be the foremost in everyone's mind as it does not always guarantee a better or more fulfilling life. Instead, sometimes it would also be good to slow down and give more attention to what we are doing, or our surroundings. Only then can we enjoy and appreciate the beauty of life.