It's an essay on One minute of that football game.

One minute of that football game

The referee blew his whistle and the game kicked off. It was the final match of my World Cup 2012 and the last match of my career. I was one goal away from beating an international record of 1000 goals. I was determined to create a history. Nonetheless I was nervous and under a tremendous pressure to perform my best on behalf of my team. I could sense the gaze of my fans who looked at me expectantly the audience was a crowd of people too overwhelmed to cheer at the moment. I always believe that football is a tense game and this match is no exception.

If not for all the hard work that we had put in as a team to become master players, the opponents would have been quite a threat. We set our foot on the ground to take the bulls by their horns. I was in the midfield and the game started with the ball being in the opponents call. They had made such a strong move in the beginning itself that my team felt they were looking for a needle in a haystack.

I still remember how being in the moment made me realize what is it to have butterflies in the stomach. I am not a player who gets discourage with ease. The match became so rough with all players getting aggressive that it came to the coach separating the men from the boys. My patience and courage of conviction was tested. In my mind there was a quest, this was the last match of my career, and will I make it, will I not? Adrenalin took over my body for a moment and my legs felt weak. The ball was coming my way from far away, as my team struggled to send one right into the net. I decided to give my best shot.

I believe this one minute is the most challenging and anxious moment of my life. The match was a draw.

Penalty came like a Knight in shining armor. We were confident about our players and their skills.

My folks tell me about how the stadium raked in silence as everyone looked at me expectantly. I looked at the net and eyes of the goalkeeper and my entire football career passed by my eyes like a flash. I told myself-'this is it', I will live this last chance to make a goal to the fullest. I took a deep breath and mustered up courage. I decided to make it a fake shot as I knew the goalkeeper was too strong for straight shot. One brief moment of a thought and I finally kicked it. He audience responded with a Mexican Wave and I had created a history. The commentator said, "Yes, he did it. Kaka has created a history."