"one big traffic jam" - Traffic congestion drives an immense problem.

Question:

Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now "one big traffic jam".

How true do you think this statement is?

What measures can government take to discourage people from using their car?

Answer:

Traffic congestion drives an immense problem. People normally use private car as their main transportation implement for heading to some places such as mall, office, campus market, and other famous places. Therefore, I definitely agree that cities are altered to ne a gigantic traffic jam which reduce human productivity. For purposes of tackling the matter, state official can build public transportation such as monorail, Mass Rapid Transit (MRT), and create a regulation such road pricing.

It is inevitable traffic congestion is driven by increasing the figure of people owning private car, and they use it for their daily activities. Take Thailand and Indonesia as an example. In Bangkok, urban dwellers are normally use private cars for going to some particular places, since plenty of people in the country are of the car. When it comes to Indonesia, especially Jakarta, the traffic jam is associated to the number of people possessing car. As in Bangkok, they use car for heading to several places such as mall or their office. Thus, traffic congestion account for the huge problem in these countries, and the cities are changed to be gridlock. As it can be seen, traffic jam, the major matter in cities, is triggered by raising the number of private car.

For tackling the traffic jam, government who is in charge of the problem has a number of solutions. First, they should provide public transportation in which people can is it for their activity. In Jakarta, the governor is building monorail and MRT for urban workers. What is more is that making a regulation such road pricing. This regulation encourages people using private cars to pay prior to entering major highway.

The aforementioned evidence reveals that the cities in around the world are facing traffic congestion due to raising the figure of private car. In contrast, the solution for tackling the matter can be committed by government such as creating new regulation and providing public transport. Where possible, people should be encouraged more not to use private car.