'new and exciting sport should be welcomed' - IELTS: Essay on whether to ban dangerous sports

Some people think that governments should ban dangerous sports, while others think people should have freedom to do any sports or activity. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

As things evolve, nothing remains the same and so does sport. Many people believe that it is high time governments took into account new exciting thrilling sports while others not only disapprove but also demand a ban on which thought to be potential risk-bearer. In my perspective, governments should let people do what they want yet put them under some regulations keep them safe.

Those who hold a view that risky sports should be excluded are very much concerned for the players' safety. They argue that those people are indulging themselves into kinds of sports, which give them nothing but danger, and illusion of fulfillment or even achievement. Thus, a ban is extremely needed not only for the sake of the people but also the governments in which they can exclaim their power over their people by forming "do and do not" kind of regulations. Moreover, by discarding other invaluable kind of sports, people will have more time and fortune to invest on other conventional healthy sports such as soccer, badminton, tennis or the like. However, not everyone shares the same point of view.

Others believe that new and thrilling sports do no harm but to bring health and happiness. They claim that, there is always another kind of people who are born to experience and create new things rather than sit back and follow the same pattern of life over the years. Besides, if governments officially recognize those sports, many people shall feel they are supported thus display respect and obedience in return. In addition, the authorities should also emerge out of the ordinary by enforcing new types of sport in order to diversify the world of it. Essentially, this is my view of the debate.

In my opinion, governments had better let their people do what they want but put in force some regulations to keep them safe. By this way, each and individual government can protect its people from dangerous sports by limiting the risk they contain. Also, through this performance of their government, people shall consider it to be caring, trustworthy and progressive.

By way of conclusion, it is still discussed about whether to restrict people from approaching risky sports or free them from limitation and accepting the new things. Nevertheless, my opinion is clear in that new and exciting kind s of sport should be welcomed and government needs to play its part in protecting people by passing possible policy on regulating their action in order to keep them away from fatal features existing.