Naturtint vs. Tom's of Maine - Compare and Contrast 2 advertisements

Looking for some input

Naturtint vs. Tom's of Maine

Natural Beauty

Flipping through the latest issue of Fitness magazine, I encountered two advertisements that caught my attention: Naturtint hair color and Tom's of Maine deodorant. While analyzing the ads, it was obvious that the advertisements were both marketing natural beauty products to women, by premiering in a women's fitness magazine. Although, Naturtint and Tom's of Maine advertisements have similarities, it is the differences in the use of color and strong tag lines, that Tom's of Maine deodorant is more efficient in marketing to consumers.

The use of color in the advertisements is clearly used to create an overall atmosphere to set the scene of the product. Within the Tom's of Maine deodorant ad, the colors of pale green, pink, and creams gives the feeling of softness and purity. The darker colors are focused towards the center of the page drawing the viewer's eyes to where the product cannot be missed. The vision of a woman doing yoga on a balcony overlooking a city, gives one the feeling of freedom and openness, similar to the way one feels in nature. Naturtint primarily uses the color green and has no real background. The ad simply focuses on the woman and the text, making the advertisement seem claustrophobic. The only notion of nature is from the primary color used.

On store shelves, natural and ecofriendly products are being promoted all around us, in cleaners, food products, toiletries and beauty supplies. It can be clearly seen that "green" has become an actual trend, but also an apparent marketing strategy for companies. Tom's advertisement claims their product does not use artificial fragrance or preservatives. This technique enables the company to highlight the strengths, and at the same time using general statements to entice the consumers because, they will know what that verbiage means. Naturtint, on the other hand, highlights specific ingredients of the product, most that are not known by the ordinary consumer. The wording gives the ad a scientific side which most will not understand.

Tom's of Maine advertisement also gives credibility to their product by providing an information box with facts about the product, they are transparent with the possible purchaser. The Tom's ad not only clarifies the strengths of the deodorant but also states the companies' years of operation to increase the product reliability. As a result, the product can be considered legitimate after being in the market for 40 years. The duration of service of the company backs its claim of 100% satisfaction guaranteed, offering the consumer reassurance. Tom's ties the advertisement together by showing a woman performing a complicated yoga pose with the text to the side "Even your deodorant should work hard for your healthy lifestyle", which emphasizes being strong, natural and healthy. However, in the Naturtint advertisement the red lipstick of the woman and the promotion of dyeing your hair brings about contradiction of the word natural, as used in the ad. This leads to ineffectiveness to some extent. Naturtint takes the emphasis off of the product being promoted and draws the viewer's eyes to the woman, where one has to wonder why she looks so un-happy, instead of the product displayed.

The primary purpose of advertising is to sell a product by attracting people to buy that brand. Therefore, the advertisements need to be effective to win the consumer's attention and interest. It needs to make a statement so that the consumer can recall the product being promoted and relate to it. While both advertisements bring attention to natural beauty products geared for women, Tom's of Maine's deodorant was more effective than Naturtint in terms of their marketing strategies displayed.