IELTS: Too much emphasis on examinations

Question: Too much emphasis is placed on testing these days. The need to prepare for tests and examinations is a restriction on teachers and also exerts unnecessary pressure on young learners. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Answer:

With a common view to judging the students' quality, nations have different ways to approach the issues. However, in some countries, examinations deem to be emphasized heavily, leading to limitation for teachers and exceeding pressure on young pupils.

With regards to teachers, this method plays a considerable role in their work. People can hardly find out a better assessment than through testing and examining students which gives a frank and objective results. Not only do grades indicate how much the students' effort is but they also helps teachers with categorize them in comparison with other students. Nonetheless, examinations bring the teachers high pressure including building the tests and marking them. For instance, in most Vietnamese schools, each class has lots of students, meaning that teachers have the equal number of test to rank. That is the problem of heavier workload along with higher pressure. Nevertheless, teachers are not the only patient of too much emphasis on testing.

Students, particularly the the young ones, are worse affected by enormous quantity of test during school time. No sooner do children start attending primary schools than they have to struggle against the enemy named tests. Crammed with many a subject and different types of examination, it is not overstated that studying turns out to be a burden for kids to bear that may result in kids' depress and health deterioration. Despite the counter - productive effect, evaluation apparently still contributes to the students life and career. The grades expose their great endeavor at school and shall be a recognition of a hard - working process.

All in all, important role of tests and examinations is undeniable in education systems. However, governments and schools should take advantage of the method of an appropriate level to balance its pros and cons.