Movements to stop and prevent global warming have been getting tractions in the past few decades.

Climate change and about the roles that Government, Corporates and Individuals can play to improve it.

Movements to stop and prevent global warming have been getting tractions in the past few decades. While this should be a joint effort by everyone, I believe that governments around the world play the key role on this issue.

We cannot rely on individual or private entities because they are generally selfish, and only act based on their own interests. There are many examples around the world where companies do serious damage to the environment in order to minimize costs and obtain higher profit. One recent example is the BP oil well accident in Gulf of Mexico which polluted the ocean with a huge amount of oil and caused devastating damage to marine ecosystem.

Although we cannot change the nature of people, we certainly can regulate them. The BP incident could have been prevented had the government implemented stricter regulations on offshore oil drilling and production. Government regulation is the only way to stop global environmental issues. We have to learn from history. In the nineties, the world was also facing a serious environmental problem, the ozone depletion. Global leaders worked together and produced what is known as Kyoto Protocol, a treaty signed by almost every nation to stop using Freon in order to prevent further damage of the ozone layer. The protocol was successful, the danger was averted and now the ozone is almost back to normal.

In essence, we cannot rely on individuals to stop global warming. World leaders have to work together, just like they did twenty year ago to solve ozone depletion.