TOEFL ESSAY--- The most important characteristic a friend should have

Appreciate your time and advice.

For a multitude of people, including me, friends may act as the most important person in life. What attribute should a friend have? Nothing is more important than smart in my opinion.

With a friend of intelligence, I can figure out various problems and get rid of troubles successfully. In everyday life, almost everyone would meet various kinds of problems which can hardly be solved in our own hands. If, however, you have a helpful friend who is much smart, he can use his knowledge, coming up with some advisable approaches to let you get out of the troubles. For instance, I once was struggling with my math assignment in which there were some hard questions when I was in middle school. After three day's effort, I nearly did nothing constructively to solve them. At last, when I was going to give up, a friend of mine, the best student in study performance in my grade, came to see me and found that I was helpless. To my surprise, he handled those problems in the easiest way. Thanks to his help, I finally make the assignment completed. At the moment, I found how lucky I was that I had such an intelligent friend.

On top of that, a clever friend can be a good teacher. I could learn so much from a clever friend, thereby making myself more intelligent. As our times progress, this world has became more complex than before whereby we have to be an intelligent person to face difficulties and to make life easier. How can we be competent to that "intelligent person"? A friend with knowledge, experience and critical thoughts can make it. We may admire them at first, emulate them then and if competently, surpass them at last. Still think of my friend mentioned in last paragraph. I was learning from him for all my middle school years. After we graduated, I still kept in touch with him, reasoning not only that we are friends but also he is such an intelligent man who is really deserved for me to learn from. By doing this, I have grew up from an innocent and futile boy to a thoughtful and competent adult who can handle things well. I have to say that, sometimes, I feel I have gained more from my friend that my parents even.

In a nutshell, we can not only gain valuable help but also absorb essence from an intelligent friend, which makes life easier and contributes to let us be of intelligence.