Money as a reward can be beneficial, but compliments and comfortable working environment are better

Topic: Some employers reward members of staff for their exceptional contribution to the company by giving them extra money. This practise can act as an incentive for some but may also have a negative impact on others.

To what extent is this style of management effective?

Are there better ways of encouraging employees to work hard?

How to reward employees for their outstanding achievements has remained a subject of controversy. While I agree that there're certain good effects of giving them money as a bonus, I would argue that there are better ways to boost workers' performances.

On the one hand, it's true that even the smallest amount of money as a reward can be benefical for staffs. For instance, just %50 of extra cash can help workers to meet their needs easier. Therefore, by working hard, they can totally have better quatlities of life. As a result, a competitive working environment will be created as employees wants to get the price, which leads to better perfomance.

On the other hand, I strongly believe that there're still some negativities of this administration. Firstly, there're no certain rules on what exellent contribution is, which means it depends on the employers whether an individual is worth the prize . This leads to unsubmissiveness in employees as they might not agree with their boss's decision. Secondly, beiong continuosly given money as a reward, many workers would consider salary as the only goal and the only thing they can obtain from working. However, it's believed that non-financial factors also play important roles in creating job satisfaction.

As the result, I suggest other ways to support workers instead of giving them cash as a prize. Firstly, compliment by boss is needed so that employees see that their efforts and hard working have been regconised. Secondly, employers should have small talks with the staffs in order to understand them and tighten their relationships , which creat a comfortable working environment for each individual. Lastly, raising the sense of initiative among workers is suggested so that they can freely learning and gaining their experience to increase their performance.

In conclusion, to my way of thinking, giving money as a reward can be benifical in some aspects. Nevertheeless, I suggest that giving complimet, making comfortable working environment and raising sense of initiative are better ways to encourage worker to work hard.