IELTS- Modern person should have several careers or ways of earning money!

Hi there. I am new here and hope to receive your comments for my essay. Feel free to share your thoughts about it. Thank you very much!

_________________________________________________________________ _____

Some people say that a modern person should have several careers or ways of earning money. They think that the idea of pursuing a single career for life is becoming an old fashioned one.

Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

ANSWER

It is true that today many young adults secure their lives by having a number of careers. While others recommend to pursue only one career, in my view people can gain more financial and social benefits when owning more careers.

To begin with, more careers means that people are less likely to meet financial issues. Firstly, a new job will surely provide employees with an increasing income. Secondly, hard economic issues these days may force many people to lose their jobs at any time. Therefore, a new career generally helps with securing their monthly income. In some cases, people set up their private business and the second job sometimes contributes a larger income in comparison to the first one.

Some people may argue that having new careers may result in negative impacts on relationships between colleagues at work. Many employers, in particular, would possibly not accept employees' thought of a second job. However, even though this might lead to the failure of promoting in career, it is better than heavy reliance on a certain job alone. The important thing for all employees is to have a high concentration on the work results, rather than to produce efforts of pleasing their supervisors. This way, if successfully followed, can help maintain a close relationship between supervisors and subordinates. Besides, since new work environment may offer opportunities to meet responsible and friendly colleagues, employees could learn more valuable knowledge, broaden their relationships and gain more high achieving results in life.

In conclusion, I commit to the notion that two careers is always better for people. By this way, an employee can contribute to the success of the two organizations while guaranteeing the effectiveness of business as well as a stable income and business relationships.