The merits outweigh demerits of living in small community and in small village (IELTS Task 2)

In the past most people lived in small villages where everyone knew everyone else. Nowadays, most people live in large cities where they only know a few people in their area. What do you think were advantages and disadvantages of living in small community?

Living in a pretty village is more favorite for many people in the past. However, in this day and age, most people are very fond of living in large industrial cities. While I believe that both ideas have merits and demerits, in this essay I would discuss the benefits and drawbacks of living in small community.

The first merit is that people who live in small village are happier than cities inhabitants. A number of significant studies demonstrate that 80% of inhabitants in cities get stress because of crowded streets and environmental pollution making people unable to enjoy with their lives. If this condition is compared to condition in village, cities people tend to be busier and noisier whereas villages people is quieter as they live in natural environment and quiet street. As a result, small community encourages people to take more enjoyable.

In addition, with small community, people can make a close relationship to others which is difficult to be imitated by people in cities. One reason is villages people always tend to know between everyone and everyone else. To illustrate, in village, people always keep in touch with others every time and give good welcome if they meet up on road or somewhere. Therefore, this condition ensures people in small community to become good social human.

However, a drawback of this issue is that small village does not have complete facilities. Nearly all of village inhabitants use limited facilities. For instance, if they want to play sport, they usually play sport in dirty field. Moreover, village also has limited public transportation so that its inhabitants always get difficulties when they want to go to somewhere far way. Thus, because of poor facilities, many people in villages move to large cities.

To sum up, the evidence shows that even though there are advantages and disadvantages living in small community, I strongly agree that advantages living in village outweigh drawbacks.