TOEFL: Media are paying too much attention to public figures' personal life?

This is a TOEFL essay topic:

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Television, newspapers, magazines, and other media pay too much attention to the personal lives of famous people such as public figures and celebrities. Use specific reasons and details to explain your opinion.

Welcome criticism! Thanks in advance!

Television, newspapers, magazines, internet and other media focus on everything about famous people. And as far as I am concerned, nowadays the media are paying too much attention to these people's personal lives in order to catch the public's eyes and increase the viewer rate of the media itself.

Media discloses anecdotes that have little to do with the celebrities' career to entertain the public claiming that the public has a right to know everything. But the truth is the public does not need to know everything personal about the famous. For example, knowing that a singer used to secretly date a movie star five years ago cannot help us define his position as a musician. Also the "news" that a senator used to smoke pot when he was young and innocent do not make him a bad legislator today. All those personal anecdotes in the past have little value in judging a celebrity at the present.

Besides, the constant annoying probing of the media invades celebrities' privacy. The interrogations of the media often focus on information that is too personal and they make the public figures embarrassed. Also, the famous seem to be stalked anytime they went out on some normal everyday activities. Everything about them may be a material for the gossip headline, such as the way they dress, the friends they have and even their life habits. The public figures have been sick of this and they hope that the media may go easy on them since they are just like anybody else--- a human being.

Admittedly the media plays a crucial role as a public monitor in supervising the famous. Without the media, we cannot gain instant access to news and the public figures will have much less influence upon our lives. The celebrities may indulge themselves without the fear of reducing their reputation. However, to monitor the famous does not mean that the media can probe into a celebrity's personal life. The media should focus on the public figures' career which they are supposed to do well in and leave the rest of their life alone.

In conclusion, contemporarily media like newspapers and magazines are concentrating too much on the public figures' personal life.