Measures to promote understanding towards volunteerism

Prompt: Meaningful volunteerism, which develops good citizenship, involves a clear understanding of the rationale for community programmes and projects as well as their benefits for various stakeholders. Propose measures that governments, civic organisations, and educational institutions can take to promote such an understanding.

Nowadays, volunteerism can be found everywhere. Schools, civic organizations, and religious institutions offer a lot of opportunities for all citizens to get involved in social services. Nevertheless, most people overlook the benefits of volunteerism. This is understandable, considering the fact that paid work seems more rewarding than volunteerism. For that reason, measures have to be taken to promote an understanding about volunteerism.

Every citizen, regardless of skills and time schedule, has the opportunity to do voluntary services, thanks to the increasingly large number of organizations that conduct these programs. One can choose the activities that he feels excited about, while others also earn the benefits. Therefore, there should be no reason to keep oneself away from volunteerism.

A recent research found that people who volunteers tend to have lower rates of depression, a greater sense of self-worth, and better health. While it seems that we are giving away our time and effort in volunteerism, we actually receive equal, if not more, amount of fulfillment than people whom we help. One example is the peer-to-peer volunteering, where people can mentor with youths who have had similar challenges. A person suffering from chronic pain will feel less pain and depression when he serve for others suffering from the same pain.

The above stated reasons are more than enough to urge people to be involved in volunteerism. However, few people understand how volunteerism could benefit them. Here, governments play an important role to promote such an understanding. As the citizens grow understanding towards the importance of volunteerism, they will develop good citizenship, which in turn will benefit the society as a whole. That is why the government needs to take some measures in order to promote volunteerism.

A lot of people see volunteerism as time wasting. In order to change this perspective, the government needs to show the public what the benefits of volunteerism are, and how one will receive more than what one gives. The government can also urge civic organizations and educational institutions to conduct social activities for their respective members. A delightful experience will grow more excitement about volunteerism in oneself, who in turn will promote it to a larger society. This is an effective way to change the perception of the society regarding volunteerism.

Other than the government, other institutions also hold indispensable roles in developing an understanding of volunteerism among the society. They not only expose the benefits of social activities, but they also have to show the right reasons to do volunteerism. Some students are involved in community services for the sake of filling their resumes. This is definitely the wrong motivation. It is the responsibility of schools and organizations to motivate the students in the right track.

Volunteerism may seem time wasting at first, which is the reason why many people are reluctant to spend any effort on it. However, it is important to understand that the benefits of volunteerism outweighs the time and effort spent on it. Therefore it is the job of governments and organizations to educate the society regarding volunteerism. In order to do that, they will have to change the general perspective of the society, which tends to be negative about volunteerism. It is equally important to give the right motivation to do community services. When more people get involved in volunteerism with the right motivation, every party will earn the benefits, and the society will develop as a whole.