Toefl essay: Mass media influences people's ideas

Hope you guys give feedbacks to my essay.thank you so much.

have a nice day!

The mass media,including television,radio and newspaper,have great influence in shaping people's ideas. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays some may hold the opinion that using mass media,including television,radio and newspaper obviously influence on the thoughts and behaviors of people,but others think that what people think and behave in daily life has nothing to do with mass media. As far as I am concerned,I agree that television,radio,newspaper more or less affect in shaping people's ideas. My arguments for this point are listed as follows.

The first reason is that the time people spend watching TV,reading newspapers leaves them almost no time thinking on their own. If they using these mass media too much,it may cause mental laziness because most time they just listen to radio or stick eyes to television,newspaper and let scenes films,lines in newspapers flow in their mind without thinking by themselves.

Another reason why I agree with the statement above is that many people watching films are influenced by the characters or scenes. For example, last year a film called " Full house" was on TV in my country.This film was so famous that it raised a "fever",everyone watched it,especially teenagers. The main character is a very beautiful and cute girl. Immediately after 2 weeks "Full house" was on TV, many teenagers seek to buy clothes like the main character's. Adding to films, many advertisements on TV have a great influence in the decision of people. For example, my brother bought a purifier water to remain alive last week just after watching an advertisement on TV,saying that the water we are drinking is heavily polluted.

Finally,when you read newspaper or listen to radio, you are often persuaded by their analysis,argument,or persuasive voice. You will see everything in newspaper,on radio is reasoning,which may affect on the way you think,the way you say in daily life. You don't know people who write papers,speak on radio are trained to do it. They always have the way to make listeners or readers believe them.

In a word, from reasons above, we may reach the conclusion that the mass media certainly affect people' ideas. People should not spend too much time watching Tv,reading newspaper or listening radio.