Many Vietnamese students are not good at the local history. What are the cause of this problem?

One of the current issues that many people of today's society are very concerned about is a significant increase in the number of Vietnamese students that lack of history knowledge about their country. People believe that this trend results from the backward studying curriculum of Vietnam. This essay will discuss the causes and solutions of the problem mentioned above.

Several causes have contributed to insufficient history education in Vietnam. The first major cause is that schedule of this subject are quite short. As we can see, students just get one to two historical lessons every week so both the apprehension and transmission are not enough time. In addition, they do not have chances to participate some theory activities belong to history. Another main reason is that teaching program looks boring. For instance, at the class, the teachers write lessons on the board and explain something, after that, students write into their notebooks only. Therefore, there have been limits about interaction between teachers and learners. This means that it is vital to study through books.

Some measures have been suggested to improve this problem. First of all, teachers have to be learned a lot of new methods in teaching because when teachers have good methods, of course their students can understand easily. Teachers also should invest more fantastic materials for their plans such as pictures, short dramas, and so on. As a result, children become more excited with that visual aids. Moreover, schools should organize many extra activities. For example, schools organize some theory journeys, let students visit museums and ask them to write reports or create a presentation about something they learn after the trip. Hence, students can grasp their lesson and they remember contents for a long time.

In short, many Vietnamese students are not good at the local history which could be provoked by a number of different reasons. It is essential that we take immediate solutions to deal with its impacts, otherwise the situation can get worse and this issue can no longer be reversed. In other to solve this problem, the government should make a concerted effort to improve the historical education in Vietnam.