"Listening to music and reading" - Things That Inspire Me

Life can be dull without the aid of inspiration. They are not necessary but they are ideal. They could be in the form of a person, an activity, a legacy or anything that a person values. Inspirations vary from person to person but all of them seem to share a common goal - to make life worth living. I found them, out of simplicity, just by listening to music, by reading or by looking at the people around me.

Listening to music brings me something to ponder. No matter what is the genre of music, the message always conveys a strong emotional punch. The music drowns me with the support of a headphone. The thump rhymes on my heartbeat. The vocal brings out a feeling of anger, joy and contentment. Eventually, flashes of memories start appearing, from the moment of my first bike until my high school graduation. Then, if I have caught the notion, I started singing. I am not a musician or a good singer. In fact, I don't have to be. As long as the feeling is there, the feeling counts on singing. All I can say is, it forms a synchronize melody to my experiences and it lets me be myself.

Whether I am killing time or wanting for entertainment, reading never fails to amuse me. Usually, I read before I write. It is a good preparatory for fetching some ideas. I can have a text-based writing or a brand new context, either way it conquers my writing block. Also, it gives me a sense of enthusiasm and prepares my mind for another creative experience. In addition, reading offers amusement. If I am alone, I would pull out a novel. Later, I am already in a hotel in New York or a coffee shop in Washington D.C. Finally, I gain more knowledge on how the world works and how should I live with it. It is my way out of ignorance. All in all, reading kills my boredom.

Until I see people all around me, then my day is complete. I am inspired at people on what they did, said or simply because of their presence. These people are nothing in particular. These people may be the pedicab driver who helped me pass an exam. A minute delay or two would have restricted me to finalize my answer on the last math problem. They may be the woman the other day who thanked me for answering her question. She was having trouble with the keyboard; she held out a hand, gesturing for help. I fixed it and her praise made me feel I could solve any problem, even finding a needle in a haystack. Or the girl, whose face bore a thousand watts smile, that brightened my whole day. Had she took one step forward, I would have died out of excitement. They did me an extraordinary favor out of simple situations.

Inspirations are like windows or doors, it invites us to come closer and show us more. Or a pair of shoes that is already worn out; sometimes, they have to be replaced. My inspiration may be nothing compared to yours. These things are not extraordinary; they don't call for a drumroll or a string quartet. However, they had, at some point, made my life worth living.

Hoping for your critique.