IELTS ; Is life easier with fewer languages? / Dying Languages

Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. To what extents do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Languages have existed with a huge quantity in the whole world, however, many of them become extinct annually. The matter appears unconcerned to some people as life will be easier with fewer languages. To my way of thinking, I agree in part with this statement for at least three rational reasons.

The very first advantage of language death all over the world is that it will obviously narrow the gaps in terms of language. In other words, reduction in misunderstanding between nationals from different countries is provided for the whole world. Therefore, that people understand exactly what others want to present leads to more comfortable feeling, making conversations between them more gentle. For example, not until have some defunct native American languages replaced by English that others can communicate with them more easier in that substitutional language.

Moreover, globalisation will be efficiently expedited if there are fewer languages in the world. To put it another way, with the disappearance of several languages, people only have to spend little of their time and money on learning other languages in order to become global citizens. Consequently, the time needed for globalising will obviously be lessened, making societies the world over sustainably develop. Taking Vietnamese for instance, in thí case, the people no longer have to spend years to study English or French to be capable of using it fluently in order that they can co-orparate with other foreign companies.

On the other hand, it is undeniable that the loss of languages does bring problems in both cultural and political implications. To start with, losing languages means losing civilisations and lots of golden related knowledge as there is an inevitable connection between them. Not only is the world negatively affected as it will lose the diversity of cultures but native people also suffer from mental burden for the loss of their national identities. Furthermore, as far as politics is concerned, having to use replaced languages instead of their own mother tongues will probably cause the inequality between countries. To specify, the gulf between different nations will increase for the right of their own languages in important conventions.

In conclusion, taking all the above into consideration, the state that serveral languages die out is obviously beneficial in both globalisation and language gaps reduction. However, in my opinion, it is still worth to conserve those languages in order to preserve the diverse cultures and keep peace in terms of politics.