LIFE IN A BIG CITY (disadvantages)

Living in big city is something that many young people dream about. Modern cities such as New York, London, Mexico,etc are optimal place for the youngster who are willing to encounter some interesting and challenging tasks. However, life in an advance society is not easy as some people expect. In reality, it has some certain disadvantages, including the people, transportation and accomodation.

One problems that urban residents encounter daily is the unreliable transportation. Because thounsands of people rely on it to reach their offices everyday, it can have an significant effect on their life. In big cities, public transportation usually do not come on time. For instance, buses which are supposed to arrive at 7.00 A.M may not show up until 8.00 A.M or even later. Sometimes, buses come in bunch, one after another. The result to this insufficient quality is the passengers missing appointments or being late at work. Personally, daily public transportation has to be safe and specific. Commuters and students who use this means of tranport everyday , in particular, are in need of a dependable vehicle. Take pupils as an example, the tardy buses are likely to result in their lateness and unpleasant performance at schools. Additionally, there is always traffic congestion during rush hours when the streets are too crowded with an incredible number of people. Therefore, in order to get to their destination on time, many people have to leave their homes earlier and allow for waiting time at buses or streetcar stops. As a result, it is understandable that an increasing number of people are turning to private automobiles.

Another disadvantage exists in a big citiy is the indifferent attitude of its inhabitants. Metropolitan citizens seem not be as friendly and hospitable as people in the country. Since the majority of people always struggle to deal with personal problems, it is out of question to get to know their neighbors or catch up on others' news. They are so engaged in their own problems that they hardly pay much attention to anyone else. Even the communication among the inhabitants in a neighborhood is litmited. They may even barely talk to each other unless it is really necessary. In addition, promotion in the city is more difficult than anywhere in the world. In other words, most people have difficulty in finding a suitable job with an acceptable salary. Living in a big city means you will settle in a competitive world where the demand is great but the supply is restrictive. Thus people have to try their best to achieve their goals.

Moreover, accomodation is cities is undeniably costly. Due to the lack in housing, houses and apartment are often so expensive that the poor can hardly afford to buy them. The more centrality of a location , the higher its rent is. To make the matter worse, the immigrants from rural areas moving to cities are on the increse, putting the standard of life on pressure.

In conclusion, life in a big city is becoming more problematic today. While it may be an ideal destination for ambitious youngsters who are willing to experience challenges as well as difficulty. On the other hand, a big city may not be suitable for the elder and entired people. The life in a big city has many disadvantages that you have to get used to and overcome if you want to become a urban citizen.