IELTS; Leisure time is for improving mind or resting mind?

Some people think that it is important to use leisure time for activities that improve the mind, such as reading and doing word puzzles.

Other people feel that it is important to rest the mind during leisure time.

You should write at least 250 words.

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

It is generally believed that leisure time is needed to recover from the stress of everyday life.There are a lot of ways one can spend his spare time doing. Personally, I prefer doing activities that improve my mind like reading and learning programming languages.

Reading is one of my favourite activities, because it provide me with a lot of new and interesting information about a lot of different topics and places without even moving from my chair. For example, I learned a lot about Japan's tradition and culture from reading about it. Reading is an inexpensive, tremendous source of information that provide the reader with hours and hours of entertainment and delight without boring him and that why reading is one of my best spare time activities.

Another great activity that can be done in spare time is learning programming languages due to its amazing capabilities in converting a simple code into a working program that can do a lot of different functions. An example of this is the word processing programs that can interpret, correct and organize your essays and letters. Also, learning programming languages could open a lot of job opportunities for you in the future from designing simple webpages to complex programs.

In conclusion, it is best to spend your leisure time doing activities that can improve your mind and adding new information and experiences. Although what you do in your spare time is up to you and no one can force you to do anything, you should spend it all on beneficial activities that can improve your mind.