Personal learning style - How and Where I position myself in Kolb's style

I have a visual impairment and it can often be very hard to pick up on all the grammatical mistakes in my assignments. If someone can help edit this, that would be great.

Prompt: consider the information you have from your learning style assessment, how would you position your learning style and why? When you read the article, where would you position yourself in- relative to Kolb's style and why?

​In a society that embraces diversity, it is very critical that one understand that there are different ways that we learn and process information. It is intuitive for us to do things the way we do them, to do them with people that we do them with, to do them at a time that is convenient to us and in a place that we are most comfortable. As a result, understanding these differences, within the context of our professions, will ensure that we are more effective at helping people learn. There are several research that has been conducted to support this idea. David Kolb borrowed from the idea of Piaget to create his learning style model. This learning style model and his experiential learning theory provide a solid foundation for teachers and other professionals looking to improve human productivity and effectiveness. In this paper, based on the personality test which I took, I will examine my own learning style. I will compare my opinion before taking the test with after taking the test.

​I grew up in a society where difference is a no, no. Everyone was encouraged to think, act and process information the same way. For some, that was fine. For me, it was absolutely disastrous! I could not retain any of the information that were being taught in class. The lectures usually consist of the teacher writing on a very dirty board and we were to copy it down. Upon finishing, she will go through the information . Months later, she will administer exams on this information and I will be completely blank, even though I studied.

When I took the personality test today, I really was not surprised when I had a tie for both Physical and Solitary. I learn best when I am able to participate and then go somewhere to reflect on the experience that I have just had. Having an opportunity to process the information is very critical to my understanding. I'm also very auditory. I have heard that this might be as a result of my visual impairment. I tend to learn things quickly when I can get my hands on it, reflect and hear some lectures regarding the topic. These three ways provide for the most complete experience in my understanding of new concepts. I'm very kinesthetic. I have troubles sitting in one place for a very long time without constantly shifting and turning. I think a combination of these styles enhance my ability to digest information and my ability to be very practical.

In comparison to Kolb's personality style, I find that there was not much of a difference. The personality test Identify me as being physical and under Kolb's Learning style I identify as a pragmatist. While I do find that I find the description of Kolb's learning style a lot more accurate for describing my personality, I think both are really one and the same.

When he said: "usually gets things done in an efficient manner because the final product is his goal." (Hurst, 2010, P. 423) I find that this describes me so well. I tried as much as possible to give myself time between assignments to make sure I get everything done before they are due. Also, when he said: "This person is often a leader, and prefers doing things to theorize about them"." (Hurst, 2010, P. 423) I find that this description is also very accurate for me. I like to take on leadership roles, when I'm given the opportunity to. I am also very impatient. I have trouble waiting for so long for something. If I don't get my grades quickly, I will be having anxiety problems. So understanding these things and their relationship to how I learn is very important

In conclusion, we know that it is extremely important to understand the way we each learn best in order to maximize the potential of each individual. Kolb's work gives us that understanding and allow us to be able to understand why certain people learn differently than us. I think it is extremely important to emphasize the need to understand that there is no one way of learning. Those teachers that accomplish the most out of their students are those that incorporate some elements of these styles.