IELTS; learning of job skills should be the most important function of Universities

Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

Some people believe that the main aim of universities is preparing students to be fitted in their job. Nevertheless, others argue that courses of academic environment should be focused on just academic subjects. In my view, there is no way to fully prepare individuals for their job in classes therefore, they should follow their own objectives.

Firstly, some experts believe that academic education is a good opportunity to prepare student for their job duties. They can become familiar with the basic knowledge and responsibilities of their future job. They have plenty of time and enough facilities in their universities to learn everything they need and usually there is no gap between graduation and involving in a job. Hence, it seems inevitable for everyone to achieve his/her required skills at school.

Others, myself included, are of the opinion that lessons, which are presented in university, cannot be replaced by some scattered vocational material. There were times when I wondered whether or not we would be successful without any preparation before entering our job. Now, I think it is totally responsibility of business owners to provide sufficient practical courses for their particular aims. In fact, limited time and resources of universities cannot cover all area of a field. For Example, there are thousands of job positions for a software engineer and it is impossible to teach all of them in the classrooms. I propose that government create several vocational schools dedicated to these types of requirements.

In conclusion, although student can effectively expand their knowledge through their education, learning of job skills mainly should postpone until after their graduation.