Learning a foreign language early bring additional tension & stress to children

Some experts believe that it is better to for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is often said that the curriculum in primary school should include one or many foreign languages. Although some may agree with this argument, others refute this saying this have adverse effects on young students. I tend to the support the latter and would elaborate on this in the following paragraphs.

Firstly, the main reason for learning a language that is alien for students is that they would grasp anything that is thrown at them. It is a known fact that young kids have the trait of absorbing and have a keen observation for things happening around them. This goes to show how teaching a student at primary school would result in them understanding it more.

Another reason is that learning a foreign language will be really helpful in an individuals career. Since many people nowadays get jobs outside their home country, knowing a foreign language will be an added advantage on their resume.

Having said that, even if there are various advantages supporting this argument, there is a strong disadvantage which is causing additional load , pressure and stress to students who are already over-burdened. This in turn will negatively impact the overall performance of students resulting in lower grades. Additionally, since students will have to dedicate more time with studies, it will lead to reduced interaction with others which will affect their social lives.

To sum up, I personally believe that including a foreign language at primary school would only bring additional tension and stress to children leading to the conclusion that the disadvantages far outweigh the advantages.