Is learning through experiments better than classroom-based learning?

Nowadays, a lot of new learning models are actively replacing the conventional learning methods. Therefore, questions have been asked about whether learning through experiments is better than learning in the classroom, given that our current examination-based student selection system. In this essay, I am going to elaborate to you the advantages and disadvantages of experiment-based learning and classroom-based learning.

Learning through experiments allows students to better understand the knowledge taught. There is a famous proverb that goes like "Tell me, I'll forget. Show me, I'll remember. Involve me, I'll understand. " This shows that one of the best ways of teaching is to let students observe a certain thing on their own or have hands-on experience on it. For example, when we studied about the plant reproductive system in biology last semester, our teacher led us to a garden in our school to observe the flowers of different plants. It greatly helped us to understand the content in the textbook and most of us remembered the structure of plant reproductive system by heart by the end of the lesson. If the lesson were conducted in the classroom, its effectiveness would be considerably compromised as many students would not be able to picture the precise structure of the flowers in their minds.

Learning through experiments helps to develop various skills of the students. One of them is the problem-solving skill. During the experiments, we may confront a lot of problems. This requires us to use our past experiences to solve new questions. Sometimes we are forced to think creatively or from a different perspective to find a solution. In this way, students can be better prepared for the future as they will always face new challenges in life and we have to make sure that they know how to overcome them on their own. The ability to think comprehensively is also enhanced during experiments. Before the investigation, we need to think of all the factors that may affect the results. We also need to think of the problems that may occur during the investigation and sometimes reasonable precautions have to be done. Besides, analysing skill can also be developed through doing experiments. When we do an experiment, we have to analyse why a certain phenomenon occurs. After the experiment, we must be able to analyse the results obtained and come to a conclusion.

However, there are also benefits for classroom-based learning. To begin with, students are more able to concentrate on study in classrooms as there are fewer distractions. During the lessons, students are usually required to sit on their own seats and pay attention to what the teacher is saying. This significantly increases the chance of students absorbing in what is taught, as compared to an outdoor environment where students may be easily distracted by the lot of interesting things going around them.

Moreover, there are learning facilitates in the classroom that are not available outdoors. From tables and chairs to computer and projector, they make study more efficient. Students are provided comfortable places to write and teachers can use power point slices to better convey a certain idea or explain a certain concept. The fans and air-conditioners in the classroom are also important for study because they provide a comfortable learning environment.

In conclusion, I believe that learning through experiments and classroom-based learning both have advantages and disadvantages. Therefore, totally comply to one form of lesson is certainly not enough to meet the demand of education.