IELTS- latest topic from this month's exam: Internet replacing books

Nowadays for many people the Internet is replacing regular books. What do you think will happen in the future and what is your opinion about this trend?

No Need For Book Stores?

This era has made people rely on the internet heavily in obtaining information. It seems that many individuals have lost their interest in using books as their main reference because the web has many features to offer. Nevertheless, I believe that there will be still some individuals who will regard books as very important source of data in the future.

Internet has become ubiquitous and essential in many aspects of people's lives because it offers many features. Evidently, the net plays a big role in many individuals, may it be in schools, offices or at home. For instance, generally, students first rush to internet cafes instead of going to libraries to do research. Majority of the students prefer searching the web because it is faster and offers latest news and ideas. Moreover, compare to carrying heavy books, many people find it comfortable to bring small gadgets with internet access.

Nevertheless, many bookstores are still productive with their sales because some individuals find books to be important. For example, many best seller book authors choose not to put all information on the web for their books to profit. Moreover, some people love to collect their favorite series of books which they can read over and over again while others prefer giving self-help books as presents. There are also many history books that gives concrete and more accurate information, especially if the authors are reliable. In addition, unlike books, with technical problems,web information that are saved in computers can be erased and not retrieved.

To conclude, the trend of using the internet more than books has become popular nowadays; however, I strongly believe that books will not completely vanish in the future. Many people will still prefer using printed data because it offers complete, accurate and reliable information.