knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decision today.

Past has a very important part in our life.It provides us with experience with myriad fields and situations.It is tendency of every human being that they always try not to repeat their mistakes from past and use that learning in making decisions in present.More or less, I disagree with the author's statement.

Firstly, taking the example of famous scientist Thomas Alva Edison who invented the light bulb, perhaps it was only achieved by him after a lot of unsuccessful attempts teaching him about his mistakes and helping him to rectify them.

Secondly, Wright Brothers inventors of the airplane, one of the greatest inventions for the humankind did not succeed without several failures.They used the knowledge that the got from their past mistake and invented a better plane.

On the other hand, It is not necessary that past experience will help a person in his present decision , considering the case of, India and Pakisthan both have been in tension with each other about their boundary conflicts and have been into couple of wars, still both the nations are not able to come up with a concording decision.

To sum up,it is very helpful to have knowledge about your past which can be helpful for your decisions in present.