TOEFL; Judging a person is not an easy task because the human nature is so complicated

Please give me a feedback;

QUESTION; Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? One should never judge a person by external appearances. Use specific reasons and details to support your answer.

The impression given by one's physical appearance may be vastly different to that person's actual character. While some people deliberately hide their real character and show an entirely different personality to the world, others may unknowingly present themselves different to their real personality. Therefore, judging a person by his or her external appearance can be very misleading, irrational and sometimes be unfair by that person.

To begin with, the external appearance does not reveal one's exact character and personality although it may sometimes provide a vague idea about them. Therefore judging a person by his external appearance may be very misleading and sometimes very dangerous too. For example, there was a person in my neighborhood who had been involved with underworld operations, but none of the neighbors suspected him because he appeared in the neighborhood as a very decent and peaceful person. However, he finally got caught to the police and then only the entire neighborhood became aware of his real character.

In addition, it is irrational to judge a person by his external appearance because such a judgment is not only hasty but also based purely on assumptions that can be far from reality. Instead, a rational judgment on a person should be based on his or her qualities, attitudes, values, capabilities etc., and therefore requires a thorough understanding of this person. For example, an employee who has a very smart appearance may not be as smart as he looks in his work. Therefore, a rational judgment on a person would require more time and would be based on real facts of this person's character.

Moreover, we often make unfair conclusions about other people by judging them by their external appearances. In many instances these judgments have proved to be invalid and baseless. For example, my brother is an extremely quiet person and he smiles very rarely. Although it is his nature and not an intentional behavior, people usually get the impression that he is either very unfriendly or high-minded and tend to keep a distance from him. But those who understand him well appreciate his qualities and value their relationship with him. However, he often becomes a victim of his external appearance and his introvert characteristics, which he cannot help.

Finally, judging a person is not an easy task because the human nature is so complicated. Therefore such judgments should be made very carefully and they require a better understanding of the person's character. Judging a person by his or her external appearance is a hasty action that lacks substantial evidence of this person's character and therefore it could be very misleading and irrational. Moreover, such a judgment can also be very unfair by that person.