Journal essay (welfare state)

1. Do you think that the state has a responsibility to provide for its citizens? Do you agree with the welfare state? Use examples of Kenya and Canada.

If I was Head of State of any given state, there would be a lot of decisions that I would have to make. For instance, how should the state be run, or should it be a welfare state? The concept of a welfare state very much intrigues my attention. A welfare state, by definition is a government that provides for the welfare, or the well-being, of its citizens completely. A government as must be involved in citizens' lives at every level. It provides for physical, social and material needs rather than the people providing for their own. The main purpose of the welfare state is to create economic equality or to assure equitable standards of living for all. This, obviously sounds great, however there is a great deal of responsibility involved. A welfare state must have the responsibility to provide for its citizens. I believe that my state or a welfare state in general must provide for education, housing, sustenance, healthcare, pensions, unemployment insurance, and equal wages through price and wage controls. Also, other services must be taken under consideration such as public transportation and childcare. With this in mind, I strongly agree with the welfare state, mainly because of how everything is, in a sense, standardized. With all of these services mentioned, it can be assumed that my government will take care of our citizens very well. I must admit that I was inspired by this whole idea from Canada. Canada is a very interesting country. It is a welfare state, and succeeds with its citizens. Canada takes care of its citizens, such as providing health care, public transportation, and plenty of other services and goods that I have mentioned before. With this in mind, I can compare a welfare state to a non-welfare state, such as Kenya. Kenya is a third world country, and I believe the reason for this is partly because it is not a welfare state. Kenya barely cares for its citizens, so it seems and is almost falling apart in my opinion. Kenya's main problem is that the government does have enough money, in general to take care of its citizens, in terms of health care and education, which is very unlike Canada's case. I would compare my state to Canada, because of our financial advantages, which is why I am very comfortable using the welfare system for my new state. To conclude, I realize that maintaining the welfare system requires a great deal of responsibility especially because very few countries and states have succeeded in creating efficient systems. This is why I am following Canada's routs, where I will do my best not to provide too much for the citizens, as eventually many of them will become dependant on the government. It's all about rationing the goods and services in moderation and properly. My main goal (and purpose) is to create equality for my citizens and maintain a strong welfare system!